Forrest Fenn’s MBTI

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forrest Fenn’s MBTI

So, I’ve been crunching on the poem for several years, but I’m new to the blogs, so this may have already been addressed— but, what do you think ff’s Myers Briggs personality type is? In my very humble opinion, he is either an INTJ (based on his cryptic writings) or an ENTP (puckishness required to hide the treasure and keep such a great secret for fun). Thoughts?

I don't know a lot about Myers Briggs assessments or the Jungian types. I don't distrust them exactly, but rather I see human traits on a gradient, and I'm not sure the results (ie the sum total of a person) is a zero-sum game. In particular it seems like really smart people can adopt techniques and behaviors outside their types. I've always thought that the best leaders, for example, are sociopaths who have learned empathy, which is a trait diagnostically not part of the sociopath's toolkit.

With that said, if I had to pick one I'd say he's probably something like an ESTP. Brave yourself for a blast of pseudo-scientific blathering:

Definitely Extrovert, though some Introverts can flawlessly mimic Extroverts for limited durations. Those kinds of people always need downtime to recharge. I don't gather Forrest is one who gets energy from doing 'nothing.'

I think he's innately Sensing but has taught himself Intuition. He seems to be on the autistic spectrum which tends to be more literal and practical. But keen intelligence and observation has taught him how to think more abstractly, and he probably associates intuition with intelligence and has developed that preference.

He doesn't seem 'warm' in the traditional sense to me, though I've never met him. I think the warmness he exhibits is an effect of his charm. So I think he's Thinking sometimes masquerading as Feeling.